JOURNAL OF THE MEETING OF THE SHEBOYGAN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

April 16, 2024

Pursuant to Section 59.11 of the Wisconsin Statutes, the April 16, 2024 session of the Sheboygan County Board was called to order by Chairperson Vern Koch at 6:00 p.m. Chairperson Koch noted that the notice of meeting was posted on April 11, 2024 at 2:30 p.m. in compliance with the open meeting law.

Sheboygan County Sheriff's Department Honor Guard presented the colors and Chairperson Koch led all present in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

The invocation was given by Louise Hansen, Wesley United Methodist Church, Sheboygan.

The roll call was taken and recorded with 24 Supervisors Elect present; Absent: 1, Supervisor J. Nelson.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS OF OFFICE

Circuit Court Judge Angela Sutkiewicz administered the oaths of office to all County Board Supervisors Elect present. The supervisors, all having been elected by their respective districts in the Spring Election of 2024, are as follows:

- 1. Brian Smith, 3615 North 19th Street, Sheboygan 53083
- 2. Paul A. Gruber, 508 Vollrath Boulevard, Sheboygan 53081
- 3. Kathleen Donovan, 623 Saint Clair Avenue, Sheboygan 53081
- 4. Marilyn Montemayor, 1015 Logan Avenue, Sheboygan 53083
- 5. Rebecca Clarke, 735 Fairway Drive, Sheboygan 53081
- 6. Henry M. Nelson, 1926 Settlement Trail, Sheboygan 53081
- 7. Edward J. Procek, 1230 South 13th Street, Sheboygan 53081
- 8. Vernon Koch. 923 Dillingham Avenue. Sheboygan 53081
- 9. Wendy Schobert, 2224 South 16th Street, Sheboygan 53081
- 10. Curt Brauer, 2328 Sunflower Avenue, Sheboygan 53081
- 11. Gerald Jorgensen, 1606 Golf View Drive West, Sheboygan 53083
- 12. Suzanne Speltz, 3917 Mendocino Lane, #308, Sheboygan 53083
- 13. Charlette Nennig, 1832 Mapletree Road, Howards Grove 53083
- 14. Keith Abler, W6259 Hammann Road, Plymouth 53073
- 15. Joe Liebau, W5870 Woodland Road, Plymouth 53073
- 16. John E. Nelson, 711 Torke Terrace, Plymouth 53073
- 17. Thomas Wegner, 202 Daleview Drive, Plymouth 53073
- 18. Christian Ellis, 705 River Oaks Drive, Sheboygan Falls 53085
- 19. Jacob Immel, 1012 Falls Parc Drive, #10, Sheboygan Falls 53085
- 20. Carl W. Nonhof, 359 Olmsted Court, Kohler 53044
- 21. Jon Kuhlow, 204 North 15th Street, Oostburg 53070
- 22. Jay Vander Weele, W4235 Clearview Road, Waldo 53093
- 23. Jacqueline Veldman, W7282 County Road F, Cascade 53011
- 24. William C. Goehring, N185 County Road DE, Random Lake 53075
- 25. Stanley Lammers, W3376 County Road A South, Oostburg 53070

INTRODUCTION OF DEPARTMENT HEADS

County Administrator Alayne Krause welcomed newly elected Supervisors Charlette Nennig, Joe Liebau, Jay Vander Weele, and Stanley Lammers. Ms. Krause had a slide presentation introducing the Department Heads and gave a brief description of their respective departmental responsibilities, budgets and staffing.

MAIN MOTIONS (Adoption of Rules)

Supervisor Goehring moved to adopt Chapter 2 of the County Code of Ordinances as Rules of Order for the 2024-2026 term of the County Board as proposed and submitted by the former Executive Committee. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Brauer and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

ELECTIONS

Chairperson Koch announced that the next order of business would be the election of the County Board Chairperson. Chairperson Koch, in accordance with Wis. Stat. § 59.12 directed the County Clerk to direct the Corporation Counsel to conduct the election of the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and additional Executive Committee members. The elections were conducted by Corporation Counsel Crystal Fieber.

Department Heads Cory Roeseler, Kevin Dulmes, and Aaron Brault were appointed as tellers.

Corporation Counsel Fieber announced the first election was for the office of Chairperson. The balloting for Chairperson was as follows:

<u>NOMINATING</u>	1st FORMAL
K. Abler	23
H. Nelson-Declined	0
Abstained	1
Absent	<u>1</u>
TOTAL	25

Supervisor Abler, having received a majority of the votes cast, was declared duly elected Chairperson of the County Board for the ensuing term of two years.

Corporation Counsel Fieber then announced that the next order of business would be the election of the Vice-Chairperson. The balloting for Vice-Chairperson was as follows:

<u>NOMINATING</u>	1 ST FORMAL
C. Brauer	22
H. Nelson-Declined	0
P. Gruber-Declined	0
J. Veldman-Declined	0
Abstain	2
Absent	<u>1</u>
TOTAL	25

Supervisor Brauer, having received a majority of the votes cast, was declared duly elected Vice-Chairperson of the County Board for the ensuing term of two years.

Corporation Counsel Fieber announced that the three remaining positions on the Executive Committee would be voted upon individually. The balloting for the first position was as follows:

NOMINATING	1st FORMAL
H. Nelson	0
K. Donovan-Declined	0
W. Goehring	14
J. Jorgensen	9
J. Veldman-Declined	0
E. Procek	1
Absent	<u>1</u>
TOTAL	25

Supervisor Goehring, having received a majority of the votes cast, was declared duly elected to the Executive Committee for the ensuing term of two years.

Balloting then proceeded for the second position as follows:

<u>NOMINATING</u>	1 ST FORMAL
J. Jorgensen	11
K. Donovan-Declined	0
J. Veldman-Declined	0
E. Procek	13
Absent	<u>1</u>
TOTAL	25

Supervisor Procek, having received a majority of the votes cast, was declared duly elected to the Executive Committee for the ensuing term of two years.

Balloting then proceeded for the final position as follows:

<u>NOMINATING</u>	1st FORMAL
K. Donovan	13
J. Jorgensen	11
B. Smith-Declined	0
Absent	<u>1</u>
TOTAL	25

Supervisor Donovan, having received a majority of the votes cast, was declared duly elected to the Executive Committee for the ensuing term of two years.

Chairperson Abler and Vice-Chairperson Brauer assumed the podium and offered introductory remarks with respect to their elections and their plans for the upcoming term.

ADJOURNMENT

Supervisor Nelson moved to adjourn. Supervisor Wegner seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board. The meeting was adjourned at 7:02 p.m. **The next scheduled meeting is Tuesday, April 23, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.**