JOURNAL OF THE MEETING OF THE SHEBOYGAN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

May 16, 2023

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 59.11, the May 16, 2023 session of the Sheboygan County Board was called to order by Chairperson Vern Koch at 6:00 p.m. Chairperson Koch noted that the notice of meeting was posted on May 12, 2023 at 3:30 p.m. in compliance with the open meeting law. The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance by all present.

The roll call was taken and recorded with 21 Supervisors present; Absent: 4, Supervisors Coulson, Ellis, Gruber, and Smith.

Resolution No. 01 (2023/24) Re: Honoring the Life of Former County Board Supervisor David A. Gumieny.

Pursuant to County Road Rule 2.13, this Resolution was on the floor for immediate action and was unanimously adopted by the Board on a rising vote and a pause in its deliberations.

County Administrator Krause, Chairperson Koch and Vice Chairperson Abler presented a signed copy of the resolution to Jeff Gumieny, and Ted Gumieny.

Supervisor Wegner moved for approval of the April 18, 2023 Journal, which was distributed to all supervisors prior to the meeting. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Brauer and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

APPOINTMENTS

The Chairperson announced that the next order of business was the consideration of the appointments by the County Administrator.

Affirmative Action Commission

Ryan McRoberts, 615 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Sheboygan County Employee Representing the District Attorney's Office)

Communications Council (Re-appointments)

Eric Bushman, 828 Center Avenue, Sheboygan (Representing City Government)
Jason Liermann, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Representing County Law Enforcement)
Blaine Werner, 159A East Shore Drive, Random Lake (Representing Rescue Service)
Daniel Althaus, N92 W7040 Evergreen Ct., Cedarburg (Representing Private Ambulance Service)
Steve Steinhardt, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Representing Emergency Management)
Chris Lewinski, 615 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Representing County Information Technology)
Todd Stange, 10718 Sunny Vista Lane, Kiel

(Representing County Fire Chiefs)

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council

Appointment

Tom Hass, 152 Meadow Ridge Drive, Sheboygan Falls – *First Responder* <u>Re-appointments</u>

Robert Kulhanek, 2422 N. 7th Street, Sheboygan – *Interested Consumer* Randy Narbatovics, N1656 County Road A, Adell – *Town Government* Steve Steinhardt, 525 N. 6th Street, Sheboygan – *Emergency Management* Craig Schicker, W8212 County Road F, Cascade – *Nursing* Suzanne Martens, 38 Lake Breeze Ln., Random Lake – *County Medical Society* Thomas Bahr, 2122 S. 7th Street, Sheboygan – *Member-at-Large* Douglas Scherpereel, 656 N. 7th Street, Oostburg – *Private Industry* Pat Depries, N7045 Kay-K Road, Belgium – *Volunteer Ambulance Service*

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

<u>Appointments</u>

Tom Hass, 152 Meadow Ridge Drive, Sheboygan Falls – *Hospital* (Resume attached to Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council Appointment) Katrina Gilbank, 322 W. Beutel Road, Port Washington – *Local Environmental* <u>Re-appointments</u>

Peter Madden, P.O. Box 758, Sheboygan – *Community Groups* Phillip Ditter, 11275 Mineral Springs Dr., Port Washington – *Facilities* Douglas Scherpereel, 656 N. 7th Street, Oostburg – *Facility Owner/Operator* Brian Goelzer, 405 Bittersweet Ln., Plymouth – *Transportation*

Traffic Safety Commission – (Re-appointments)

Sergeant Matt Spence, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Representing Sheriff's Department)

- Chief Jason Liermann, 301 First Street, Cascade (Representing Cascade Police Department)
- Deputy Chief Aaron Wigen, 375 Buffalo Street, Sheboygan Falls (Representing Sheboygan Falls Police Department)

Terry Martin, 2510 South 12th Street, Sheboygan (Representing Association of Auto Dealerships)

Joel Urmanski, 615 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Representing Discipline of Law)

Chris Nehring, W6287 Oak Vista Ln, Plymouth

(Representing Sheboygan County Medical Society)

Supervisor Goehring moved to concur with the appointments by the County Administrator. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Brauer and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

PRESENTATION

Allen Nohl, Sheboygan County Veterans Memorial Chairman – Veterans Memorial Park Update.

LETTERS AND COMMUNICATIONS - NONE

Supervisor Ellis arrived at 6:12 p.m.

COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

County Administrator Alayne Krause reminded everyone that the annual Leadership Forum will be taking place on June 15th, the 2024 budget development is currently underway, reported that the budget kick-off will be June 28th, and introduced the new Finance Director Steve Hatton. Ms. Krause reported that for the 9th consecutive year Sheboygan County received the Government Finance Officers Association, Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting and thanked the Finance Department and Finance Committee for their hard work in achieving this award. Ms. Krause also reported that the Wings and Wheels event will be taking place at the Sheboygan County Memorial Airport on June 18th.

COMMITTEE REPORTS - NONE

(Vice-Chairperson Abler presiding)

Pursuant to Rule IV of the Rules of Order, the following ordinances were introduced by the Clerk and referred by the Vice-Chairperson as indicated:

- **Ordinance No. 01 (2023/24)** Re: Amending Chapter 46 of the County Code of Ordinances referred to the Executive Committee.
- **Ordinance No. 02 (2023/24)** Re: Amending Chapter 12, Emergency Medical Services Council referred to the Executive Committee.
- **Ordinance No. 03 (2023/24)** Re: Establishing Speed Zone on: County Roads "A" and "J" (Town of Rhine) referred to the Law Committee.

ADJOURNMENT

Supervisor Te Stroete moved to adjourn. Supervisor Brauer seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board. The meeting was adjourned at 6:18 p.m. The next scheduled meeting is Tuesday, June 20, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.