JOURNAL OF THE MEETING OF THE SHEBOYGAN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

May 21, 2024

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 59.11, the May 21, 2024 session of the Sheboygan County Board was called to order by Chairperson Keith Abler at 6:00 p.m. Chairperson Abler noted that the notice of meeting was posted on May 17, 2024 at 12:00 p.m. in compliance with the open meeting law. The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance by all present.

The roll call was taken and recorded with 23 Supervisors present; Absent: 2, Supervisors Ellis, and Schobert.

Supervisor Wegner moved for approval of the April 23, 2024 Journal, which was distributed to all supervisors prior to the meeting. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Procek and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

APPOINTMENTS

The Chairperson announced that the next order of business was the consideration of the appointments by the Chairperson.

Affirmative Action Commission – Re-appointment

Christian Ellis, 705 River Oaks Drive, Sheboygan Falls (Representing the Human Resources Committee)

Airport Advisory Committee

Jackie Veldman, W7282 County Road F, Cascade (Representing-Member of the Transportation Committee)

Amsterdam Dunes Advisory Committee

Appointments

Kathleen Donovan, 623 Saint Clair Avenue, Sheboygan (Representing – Finance Committee)
Stanley Lammers, W3376 County Road A South, Oostburg (Representing – Supervisory
District 25)

Re-Appointments

Henry Nelson, 1926 Settlement Trail, Sheboygan (Representing – Planning, Resources, Ag & Extension Committee)

Edward Procek, 1230 South 13th Street, Sheboygan (Representing – Executive Committee)

Communications Council – Re-Appointment

Christian Ellis, 705 River Oaks Drive, Sheboygan Falls (Representing the County Board)

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council – Re-Appointment

Wendy Schobert, 2224 South 16th Street, Sheboygan (Representing the County Board)

Land Information Council

Marilyn Montemayor, 1015 Logan Avenue, Sheboygan (Representing the County Board)

Little Elkhart Lake Rehabilitation District Board

John Nelson, 711 Torke Terrace, Plymouth (Representing PRAE Committee)

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Charlette Nennig, 1832 Mapletree Road, Howards Grove (Elected County Official)

Traffic Safety Commission – Re-Appointment

Gerald Jorgensen, 1606 Golf View Drive West, Sheboygan (County Board Representative)

Transportation Coordinating Committee – Re-Appointments

Curt Brauer, 2328 Sunflower Avenue, Sheboygan (County Board Supervisor representing Health & Human Services Committee)

Thomas Wegner, 202 Daleview Drive, Plymouth (County Board Supervisor representing Transportation Committee)

Supervisor Wegner moved to concur with the appointments by the Chairperson. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Koch and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

The Chairperson announced that the next order of business was the consideration of the following appointment/s by the County Administrator.

Communications Council

<u>Appointments</u>

Levi Melius Jr., N3120 Ellen View Road, Cascade (Rescue Service)

Matt Greenwood, 1315 North 23rd Street, Sheboygan (City Law Enforcement)

Re-Appointments

Bryan Olson, W5741 County Road J, Plymouth (Member-at-Large)

Jason Ebert, N1568 Lake Ridge Drive, Adell (Volunteer Fire Department)

Michael Brungraber, 1430 North 3rd Street, Sheboygan (Member-at-Large)

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council

Appointments

Tyler Wuestenhagen, 1608 Fieldstone Ln, Howards Grove (Sheboygan County Fire Chiefs Association)

Steve Green, 207 Francis Avenue, Cascade (Village Government)

Daniel Peterson, 422 Niagara Avenue, Sheboygan (City Government)

Re-Appointments

Joel Urmanski, 615 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (County Bar Association)

Daniel Althaus, N92 W7040 Evergreen Ct., Cedarburg (Private Ambulance Service)

Holly Parker, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (County Law Enforcement)

Erin McGlynn, 3400 Union Avenue, Sheboygan (Licensed Medical Provider)

Michael Lubbert, 1326 North 25th Street, Sheboygan (Sheboygan Fire Department)

Land Information Council – Re-Appointment

Eric Zinkel, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (*Public Safety Representative*)

Local Emergency Planning Committee – Re-Appointments

Eric Bollar, 428 South 9th Street, Oostburg (Sheboygan Fire Dept.)

Charles Butler, 1326 North 25th Street (Sheboygan Fire Dept.)

Terry Katsma, 705 Erie Avenue, Oostburg (Elected State Official)

Steve Steinhardt, 525 North 6th Street, Sheboygan (Emergency Management)

Starrlene Grossman, 1011 North 8th Street, Sheboygan (Health)

Daniel Althaus, N92 W7040 Evergreen Ct., Cedarburg (First Aid)

Dean Dolence, N1571 Jones St, Adell (Community Groups)

Jennifer Vorpagel, 503 South Hills Drive, Plymouth (Local Media)

Traffic Safety Commission

Appointments

Alex Jaeger, 1315 North 23rd Street, Sheboygan (Sheboygan Police Department)

Matt Starker, 128 Smith Street, Plymouth (Plymouth Police Department)

Re-Appointments

Michael Meeusen, 40 Pine Street, Elkhart Lake (Elkhart Lake Police Department)

Shawn Splivalo, 319 Highland Drive, Kohler (Kohler Police Department)

Supervisor Goehring moved to concur with the appointments from the County Administrator. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Clarke and carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board.

PRESENTATIONS - NONE

LETTERS AND COMMUNICATIONS - NONE

COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT

County Administrator Alayne Krause thanked the supervisors that attended the ribbon cutting at the Sheboygan Broughton Marsh for the Marsh Dam Project. Per Chapter 7, Ms. Krause gave a powerpoint presentation on the county sales and use tax seven-year review. Ms. Krause concluded that the sales and use tax revenue is significant to our operations and we must continue to utilize it.

(Vice-Chairperson Brauer presiding)

Pursuant to Rule IV of the Rules of Order, the following resolutions and ordinances were introduced by the Clerk and referred by the Vice-Chairperson as indicated:

- **Resolution No. 01 (2024/25)** Re: Approving Use of American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Funds (No. 9) referred to the Finance Committee.
- **Resolution No. 02 (2024/25)** Re: Requesting State Stewardship Local Assistance Grant for Mountain Biking/Hiking Trail System at Rocky Knoll referred to the Finance Committee.
- **Ordinance No. 01 (2024/25)** Re: Amending Pay Scale for Certain County Positions referred to the Executive Committee.
- **Ordinance No. 02 (2024/25)** Re: Amending Section 92.02, County Communications Council Membership referred to the Executive Committee.

ADJOURNMENT

Supervisor Goehring moved to adjourn. Supervisor Wegner seconded the motion which carried on unanimous roll call vote of the board. The meeting was adjourned at 6:28 p.m. The next scheduled meeting is Tuesday, June 18, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.