## SHEBOYGAN COUNTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Administration Building 508 New York Ave Sheboygan, WI 53081 Room 302

May 30, 2024 Called to Order: 3:00 PM Adjourned: 3:58 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: In Person: Keith Abler, William Goehring, Curt Brauer, Edward Procek,

and Kathleen Donovan

Remote: None

ALSO PRESENT: In Person: Gerald Jorgensen (arriving at 3:05 pm), Alayne Krause, Emily

Stewart, Crystal Fieber, Dave Loomis, Captain Jason Liermann, and Peggy

Osthelder Remote: None

Chairman Abler called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM. Peggy Osthelder certified compliance with the open meeting law. The meeting notice was posted at 8:15 AM on May 29, 2024.

There was no correspondence to present to the Committee.

Supervisor Brauer made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 16, 2024 Executive Committee Meeting. Motion seconded by Supervisor Goehring. Motion carried.

The Committee discussed Ordinance No. 1 – Amending Pay Scale for Certain County Positions. Human Resources Director Dave Loomis gave an overview and answered questions. Supervisor Brauer made a motion to approve the ordinance. Motion seconded by Supervisor Procek. Motion carried.

The Committee discussed Ordinance No. 2 – Amending Section 92.02, County Communications Council Membership. Captain Jason Liermann and Corporation Counsel Crystal Fieber gave an overview and answered questions. Supervisor Brauer made a motion to approve the ordinance. Motion seconded by Supervisor Goehring. Motion carried.

The Committee reviewed the 2023-2024 Per Diem Report. Supervisor Brauer made a motion to approve the report. Motion seconded by Supervisor Donovan. Motion carried.

County Administrator Alayne Krause reported on the progress of the 2025 budget development process. Administrator Krause then reported on recent efforts by the Wisconsin Counties Association and the Wisconsin County Executives and Administrators Association to establish a taskforce to address the court system funding disparity. Additionally, Administrator Krause reported on a recent Heads of Local Government meeting to discuss the kick off of a fire/ems study in Sheboygan County. Administrator Krause also provided an update on the Sheboygan County Historical Museum and efforts to formalize a County Board appointment to their Board of Directors. Additionally, Administrator Krause noted that Monday, June 3<sup>rd</sup> is Sheriff Roeseler's last day before retirement. Undersheriff Matt Spence will take over the duties until the Governor formally appoints a new Sheriff. Administrator Krause then reported that the Courthouse renovation project is ahead of schedule, and we have received positive feedback from the community about the visual improvements to the building. Administrator Krause

then reported on a recent cybersecurity training program rolled out by the Information Technology Department and noted that there have been significant improvements in the outcomes of phishing tests since the completion of the training. Administrator Krause then provided an overview of a campaign proposal submitted by Discover Wisconsin to highlight Sheboygan County. Finally, Administrator Krause and Deputy Administrator Stewart provided an overview of another proposed program, UniverCity, delivered by University of Wisconsin- Madison. This program connects local governments with graduate students who will research, analyze, and make recommendations to solve issues and/or implement programs.

The Committee discussed attendance at special meetings. Supervisor Brauer requested approval for Committee Chairpersons to attend the Committee Chairpersons meeting on Thursday, June 20, 2024. Supervisor Procek made a motion to approve the request. Motion seconded by Supervisor Goehring. Motion carried.

Vouchers were reviewed. Supervisor Brauer made a motion to approve the vouchers. Motion seconded by Supervisor Donovan. Motion carried.

The next Executive Committee meeting is scheduled for Monday, June 24, 2024 at 3 pm.

Supervisor Brauer made a motion to adjourn. Motion seconded by Supervisor Procek. Motion carried.

Peggy Osthelder, Recording Secretary

William Goehring, Secretary